PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unable to mount drive



antz90
April 23rd, 2008, 05:28 AM
I currently dual boot windows XP/Ubuntu 7.10

while i was updating my iPod(cant seem to find a program that'll import videos to the iPod on Ubuntu) windows freaked out, like always, so i restarted, and logged into Ubuntu, and i look around, and my main hard drive is gone)(sda1)..
i tried to mount it, and it wouldn't. i know its there, its in my laptop...

ikki_72
April 23rd, 2008, 08:28 AM
try
sudo fdisk -l then find NTFS partion, mount it, say the partition /dev/sda1 to a directory

mount /dev/sda1 anydirectory/

Temüjin
April 23rd, 2008, 10:20 AM
If windows freaked out, I guess that means it didn't shut down properly? If so, you either need to force mount it or have Windows mount/unmount it properly.
Boot back into Windows and shut down properly. That should solve your problem. If not, we'll work on manually mounting it.

antz90
April 23rd, 2008, 10:06 PM
Well, thanks to windows infamous blue screen of doom,
it didnt shut down right.
now windows cant even load up, right after the
"windows XP" loading screen, Boom! phys mem dump.

Temüjin
April 23rd, 2008, 10:51 PM
Ideally, you'll want to connect the disk to a Windows box and stop/unmount it cleanly.
If that's not possible, then use the command below. There's a (small) possibility of data loss with force mounting, so don't say I didn't warn you. :P


sudo mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /mount/point -o ro,force,gid=100
(/mount/point = the directory you want to mount to)

Note: We are mounting it read-only on the first mount as a precaution. When you want to mount the disk in the future, use 'rw' instead of 'ro' (and obviously, no 'force').

antz90
April 24th, 2008, 03:19 AM
after running the

sudo fdisk -l
(see bottom)

the drive sda1 was my main drive with windows, and all my stuff (ie: music, movies, games, ect) and after updating my ipod, windows crashed and now windows wont even get past the "windows loading" screen b4 a phys mem dump.

i tried

mount /dev/sda1 anydirectory/
and it says only root.

so to make this simple,
pretend i know nothing, and explain how to get my drive back -.-
:lolflag:

i had a force mount work b4, idk what i did, but my drive came back, and i restarted, and pop, its gone.

the 30GB drive is just the ipod, ignore it, :D


Disk /dev/sda: 100.0 GB, 100030242816 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 12161 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x37793778

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 121 9855 78196387+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2 10770 12030 10128982+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/sda3 12031 12161 1052257+ d7 Unknown
/dev/sda4 9856 10769 7341705 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 9856 10644 6337611 83 Linux
/dev/sda6 10645 10769 1004031 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Partition table entries are not in disk order
Note: sector size is 2048 (not 512)

Disk /dev/sdb: 30.0 GB, 30005821440 bytes
255 heads, 62 sectors/track, 926 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 15810 * 2048 = 32378880 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x20202020

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 1 4 96264 0 Empty
Partition 1 has different physical/logical beginnings (non-Linux?):
phys=(0, 1, 1) logical=(0, 1, 2)
Partition 1 has different physical/logical endings:
phys=(2, 254, 63) logical=(3, 12, 21)
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sdb2 4 927 29206168 b W95 FAT32
Partition 2 has different physical/logical beginnings (non-Linux?):
phys=(3, 0, 1) logical=(3, 12, 22)
Partition 2 has different physical/logical endings:
phys=(911, 254, 62) logical=(926, 180, 59)

Disk /dev/mmcblk0: 1030 MB, 1030225920 bytes
4 heads, 3 sectors/track, 167680 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 12 * 512 = 6144 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/mmcblk0p1 21 167680 1005958+ 6 FAT16

antz90
April 24th, 2008, 09:30 PM
Any ideas?

Temüjin
April 24th, 2008, 10:25 PM
Now you need an entry in your /etc/fstab (gksudo gedit /etc/fstab)

/dev/sda1 /a/directory ntfs-3g rw,auto,exec,user,gid=100 0 0

antz90
April 24th, 2008, 11:56 PM
gksudo gedit /etc/fstab

add that to it?
where?

Baje
April 25th, 2008, 01:14 AM
After doing that it says fuse: failed to access mountpoint /media/external: No such file or directory

antz90
April 25th, 2008, 01:38 AM
I ran a force mount, and it worked this time.
but it didnt work last night.

i dont want to keep having to force it, eventually itll get ruined.

how can i fix it enough to run windows so it can solve its own damn problem?

i read on another post about fsck with a live cd. but then another said fsck wont work on NTFS drives (mine)

Temüjin
April 25th, 2008, 02:11 AM
Sounds like it's time to jump ship. You're due for a reformat and Windows reinstall. That's my suggestion to you. Get your data off while you can and get out. I just wrestled with this on my sister's computer and that ended up being the solution.

antz90
April 25th, 2008, 03:14 AM
Eh, i backed up my music, all i care about really.
The rest can burn with windows!:twisted:

Im probably just going to off windows completely.

Temüjin
April 25th, 2008, 04:52 AM
Eh, i backed up my music, all i care about really.
The rest can burn with windows!:twisted:

Im probably just going to off windows completely.
Awesome! A functional Windows install isn't a bad thing to have around though. Some things (BIOS updates, DVD drive firmware updates) are just easier with Billy's OS.

antz90
April 25th, 2008, 05:14 AM
Yeah, maybe. when i wipe this computer to start anew, i might give windows a 5gig block. :P
other then that, its all Ubuntu. theres only a few things i dont like about Ubuntu, but all can be fixed. :D

As for the drive mounting,
i just force mounted it, and it seems to mount, atleast until i restart, but as for this thread, its done, for now.
Thanks Temüjin

ulster_con
August 21st, 2008, 12:23 AM
hey all,

i have a similar issue, windows failed to load, so had to force shutdown, now i cannot get into windows at all, but thats ok, as i dont really use it.

but... my partitioned 90GB wont mount, when i managed to force mount it, i (as u can see) mounted it a little incorrectly, and pointed it to the desktop.

so now my desktop icons have dissappeared, and my mounted drives contents are on the desktop, but nothing else, i cannot unmount it via right click now either as it says it was not mounted by HAL

so... how can i undo that mount, then mount it correctly in command line to point to "where ever it should correctly mount", thus recovering and leaving my desktop intact?

thanks in advance,

Con

ulster_con
August 21st, 2008, 12:36 AM
hey all,

i have a similar issue, windows failed to load, so had to force shutdown, now i cannot get into windows at all, but thats ok, as i dont really use it.

but... my partitioned 90GB wont mount, when i managed to force mount it, i (as u can see) mounted it a little incorrectly, and pointed it to the desktop.

so now my desktop icons have dissappeared, and my mounted drives contents are on the desktop, but nothing else, i cannot unmount it via right click now either as it says it was not mounted by HAL

so... how can i undo that mount, then mount it correctly in command line to point to "where ever it should correctly mount", thus recovering and leaving my desktop intact?

thanks in advance,

Con

ive since managed to unmount via Partition Editor.
but all the files remain on the desktop (but unable to open them ofcourse as they are unmounted), but i cannot delete them as the directory does not exist(unmounted)

so, just need to know where to point it correctly to mount it next time,
and ideas?

i get this error when i try
fuse: failed to access mountpoint /media/disk: No such file or directory

ulster_con
August 21st, 2008, 08:19 AM
ahh, a reboot solved it all...
the force mount i see is only a temporary mount :D

desktop restored, and proper mount method restored :D