PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Audacity-Recording and Playback Issues

indiekid97
April 23rd, 2008, 03:30 AM
Hello and thanks in advance for anyone who responds :]

I've used audacity on windows for as long as i can remember for some basic songwriting/recording, and had great success.
however, on ubuntu its another story...
I'm not a complete newbie to linux, ive run various distros for over 2 years now but ive seem to come across a head scratcher
:confused:

After opening Audacity, it will record from my mic input only once and then upon playback attempt it reports

Error while opening sound device. Please check the output device settings and the project sample rate
This occurs during simple playback also, say opening an OGG file.
Also, after the initial record, the error will be displayed when Audacity is asked to record again

any help?

indiekid97
April 23rd, 2008, 01:02 PM
bump

lolwhites
April 23rd, 2008, 03:07 PM
Am having similar issue but in my case it won't record at all. When I try to record, I get the same error message, unless I select "ALSA: HDA Intel: STAC92xx Analog (hw:0,0) as the input device, in which case I don't get the message, but it still doesn't record off the mike.
I had hoped it's sort itself out when I upgraded to Hardy, but it hasn't made any difference.

thirdspace
April 23rd, 2008, 05:57 PM
audacity under ubuntu has been kind of unreliable for me too. One of its problems is it gets tangled up in multi-thread sound device access deadlocks. For recording music, you might find that learning to use jack (qjackctl) and ardour is worth the time it will take. Or, using jack to connect audacity to the sound device might work better than the "direct" route and isn't much harder. Jack usually at least gives a real error report when something goes wrong, instead of a generic "something went wrong".

BenniP
April 25th, 2008, 09:16 AM
For me, Audacity works on the condition that no other program (ie music player) is opened at startup.