PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Apple keyboard

todivefor
April 23rd, 2008, 03:14 AM
I am new to Ubuntu, so please be kind. I am having a problem. I have installed Ubuntu with the default keyboard (generic 105 key (intl) PC, layout Germany). I setup a user with admin priveleges. I setup a launcher (gksudo "gnome-open %u"). When I drag a file to it, gedit asks for a password, I enter and all works fine. With this keyboard layout, I get funny characters / translates to -, and many others. I set keyboard to Apple and English. Everytime I do the same it asks for the password, but never recognizes it. I am able to login and have the password recognized. Any ideas? How can I have my cake and eat it too?

Running Ubuntu 7.10 on Alum. Intel iMac 20"

todivefor
April 23rd, 2008, 09:55 AM
Sorry, looks like I posted in wrong forum. My guess is this problem is not unique to Intel MAC. Feel free to move, I couldn't figure out how to.

todivefor
April 23rd, 2008, 03:19 PM
I have made some progress on this. I think I setup my password with the default keyboard settings (Generic 105-key (intl) PC, German). Then I changed my keyboard to "Apple", English. I redid this and now seem to have my password in sync.

I now have a new problem. On the login screen, my y and z keys are interchanged. My password has a "z" in it, so I have to key "y" for my password to take. Any ideas?

Isaacmarritt
January 9th, 2013, 02:05 AM
i had the same problem i just went through a bunch of keyboard styles until i found the right one. english canadian worked with my 2007 mactel:biggrin:

overdrank
January 9th, 2013, 02:06 AM
From the Ubuntu Forums Code of Conduct (http://ubuntuforums.org/index.php?page=policy).