PDA

View Full Version : Tarballs - Decompressing and Installing?

Shadius
April 23rd, 2008, 02:27 AM
I'm new to the whole Linux experience so consider me a noob. What I want to learn to do is how to decompress tarballs and install them. I'm trying to install Compiz Fusion on Ubuntu but I can't figure out how to use the terminal to decompress the .bz2 tarball. I need help. I've seen what Linux can do and that's why I decided to give it a try but it seems that it's complicated for former Windows users that know nothing of the terminal. Help please! Teach me how to use these tarballs!

Can+~
April 23rd, 2008, 02:29 AM
If you're new, you should don't touch tar.gz's just yet.

Besides, compiz-fusion comes preloaded from ubuntu 7.10 (Gutsy Gibbon) by default, it's on appearence > Visual Effects.

Also, please, instead of looking on google for files, first open "Add/Remove Programs" on the Applications tab, you'll have a pleasant surprise, you can install free software directly from the server, instead of scouting for .exe's in windows.

Tim Sharitt
April 23rd, 2008, 02:35 AM
To extract a bz2 tarball

tar -xjf file.tar.bz2
read the tar man page for all the options and how to extract other compression formats. Once extracted the installation varies from app to app, most will have an "install" file which should get you started. I see you're installing compize, have you tried to install it from the repositories?

cml21
April 23rd, 2008, 02:42 AM
in a more general sense, as you find tarballs that you want to install, try the following:

1. go to command line
2. go to a temp directory, for example, type: cd /tmp
3. grab the package off the interweb, tpye: wget http://www.website.com/package.tar.gz
4. untar it, type: tar -zxvf package.tar.gz (or flag '-xvjf' if untarring X.tar.bz2)
5. move into the created dir, type: cd package
6. configure the package, type: ./configure
7. make the package, type: make
8. install the package, type: make install