PDA

View Full Version : Wireless problems

SigmaHog
April 22nd, 2008, 11:20 PM
Here's the problem, I finally got my wireless to work and can get it to work at other wi-fi spots and on campus but when I get back to my house I can see a connection (usually at 52-71%) but when I open firefox nothing happens and it says Page cannot be found. Any Help?

Joeb454
April 22nd, 2008, 11:24 PM
You can see the connection...but (this may sound really stupid) are you actually connected to it?

SigmaHog
April 22nd, 2008, 11:27 PM
not stupid at all lol... i'm new at this whole linux thing though

it says I'm connected... it has the blue bars where the connection indecator is...

i ran iwconfig but i don't know how to read all the crap on there yet... i'd post the output but im on a different comp :(

Phoenixzeus
April 22nd, 2008, 11:30 PM
If you connect up (cabled) to your wireless connection at home do you get connectivity? Can you browse the web?

SigmaHog
April 22nd, 2008, 11:34 PM
If you connect up (cabled) to your wireless connection at home do you get connectivity? Can you browse the web?

if i have a landline yes....
I live in a house with about 150 guys and it's an old house so we don't get landlines in our rooms, very frustrating

Phoenixzeus
April 22nd, 2008, 11:44 PM
Once you connect to the network,
Can you ping the router?
Can you ping websites?
Open terminal, type: "ping www.google.com"

SigmaHog
April 22nd, 2008, 11:45 PM
nope i can't ping one thing

SigmaHog
April 23rd, 2008, 12:10 AM
bumpety bump bump bump

Joeb454
April 23rd, 2008, 12:35 AM
I've not managed to find a solution or possible solution, as of yet.

Also, we'd recommend that you don't bump a thread for at least 24 hours. Just a general forum rule :)

SigmaHog
April 23rd, 2008, 12:41 AM
I've not managed to find a solution or possible solution, as of yet.

Also, we'd recommend that you don't bump a thread for at least 24 hours. Just a general forum rule :)

my bad :( sorry