PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] resizing an NTFS partition

rockerphil
April 22nd, 2008, 09:44 AM
ok, here's the deal. i've been running Fluxbuntu on my computer for about 6 months now and am loving it, but here's the problem, i've got an 8 GB hard drive that my OS is installed on and a 2nd 40 GB hard drive that's got all my family photos and music on an NTFS partition, and i'd like to move them to an ext2/3 partition, but gparted (the Gnome Partition Editor) won't allow me to resize the NTFS partition so that i can start trnansfering my files to a Linux partition. any help would be appreciated.

billgoldberg
April 22nd, 2008, 09:54 AM
ok, here's the deal. i've been running Fluxbuntu on my computer for about 6 months now and am loving it, but here's the problem, i've got an 8 GB hard drive that my OS is installed on and a 2nd 40 GB hard drive that's got all my family photos and music on an NTFS partition, and i'd like to move them to an ext2/3 partition, but gparted (the Gnome Partition Editor) won't allow me to resize the NTFS partition so that i can start trnansfering my files to a Linux partition. any help would be appreciated.

You will need to unmount the drive before you can resize/format.

If you use the gparted live cd, that shouldn't be an issue.

rockerphil
April 22nd, 2008, 09:59 AM
i don't have a CD burner, so booting from a live CD isn't an option. do you know of any bootable partition software that can be run from a floppy?

billgoldberg
April 22nd, 2008, 10:26 AM
i don't have a CD burner, so booting from a live CD isn't an option. do you know of any bootable partition software that can be run from a floppy?

It can be done with the ubuntu live cd also. So if you have that one, try it.

As for the floppy thing, I don't have a clue, haven't used a floppy in years.

rockerphil
April 22nd, 2008, 10:59 AM