PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] verizon DSL connect problem ubuntu 7.10

RickyFingers
April 22nd, 2008, 05:44 AM
I'm not very experienced with Linux or networking, configuring network/internet connections. I've been booting my PC with
Ubuntu LiveCD 7.10 Gnome and it looks great. I'd toss out XP and go for the full install of ubuntu/linux if I could get my internet connection to work. My ISP is Verizon through a Westell DSL modem. I’ve read in these forums and others that this has been a problem and still is (Version DSL that is). I was under the impression that Ubuntu would automatically detect the Ethernet connection. Shall I switch my ISP? Can someone recommend one that will work with Linux? Or has someone been able to figure out an easy way to get around Verizon's lack of vision.

I’ve tried the sudo ppoeconfig, poff DSL-provider, ifconfig and have been through the documentation.

thanks for your time

nicedude
April 22nd, 2008, 05:55 AM
To start tell me more about your machine Make? Model? brand of ethernet network chipset?

you can use the following to check wired adapter availability
ifconfig -a -v

and post the text of the results along with answers about yoour box if you know them.

propwashz
April 22nd, 2008, 08:55 AM
Iīm new to linux,too -- but not to the westell modem (I hate it!)
I donīt remember off the top of my head,so youīll have to google it,but you need the default IP address of the Westell modem itself--
THEN , either from windows or linux (it shouldnīt matter),open a browser and type in http://the IP of the modem (something like 192.168.1.1--but look it up) in the address bar and hit enter.This will open the menu interface of the modem.Change it to BRIDGED mode(instead of DHCP)--THEN connect a router to the modem--your computer to the router--put in your DSL name and pasword in the menu item that asks for it in the router,save and exit--and voilaī --Hardy(or any linux distro) and windows both connect--