PDA

View Full Version : Moving /home caused boot errors...

stevek123
April 22nd, 2008, 05:29 AM
Total noob in ubuntu (7.10). i386-1000Mhz w/ 3x128MB ram, 13G HD, OLD hardware...A programmer friend, well versed in terminal (but not in gnome/gui), came over and helped me install some hardware including an additional 60G HD. We (he) moved my home folder onto the new drive - messed up a number of things as a result. Upon boot-up the system does not recog gnome and doesnt open the f7 gui. It will run in f1/terminal just fine (does me NO good - I'm clueless). I figured out that if I run gksudo nautilus in failsafe terminal and click on the new HD - it THEN sees it as the /home folder. Then i need to Ctrl-Alt-Bkspc and relog into Gnome to get it to open - sometimes need to log in twice... but it works. It looks like a number of gui/gnome files are in the /Home folder and I suspect that if I move them back to the OS HD it will run normally (=problems recognizing the new slave HD on boot-up). Then all I really need to do is move the sub-folders I want to use/fill/network back onto the slave HD and I will be fine. Problem is I have no clue how to do this without causing more problems. Seems like it should be an easy fix...help?

sdennie
April 22nd, 2008, 05:41 AM
It sounds like your new /home directory isn't being mounted at boot time. If you could post the contents of /etc/fstab, it should be possible to make your /home disk automatically show up when you boot your computer.

stevek123
April 22nd, 2008, 05:49 AM
It sounds like your new /home directory isn't being mounted at boot time. If you could post the contents of /etc/fstab, it should be possible to make your /home disk automatically show up when you boot your computer.

Can you tell from my orig post I still think in windows terms???:(
I think this is the log you asked to see... I've no clue what it says....(Thanks for kwik reply)

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#