PDA

View Full Version : (Somewhat facetiously) Should we have a sticky telling Windows experts to stay away?

aysiu
April 21st, 2008, 09:51 PM
I was looking through the Ubuntu Testimonials and Experiences at some of the negative experiences and found some interesting snippets.

I am not a programmer, system administrator, or network administrator. I don't work at a help desk (apart from helping out on the Ubuntu Forums every once in a wihle), and I have never built a computer before (I buy them all prebuilt). Somehow I've managed fine with Ubuntu for three years.

Maybe we should caution "experts" against trying Ubuntu?
I work in IT, predominantly windows computing. I basically do web design, and computer repairs etc. So I am not an expert but equally I am not a newbie.
I programmed some pretty extensive, complicated programs in visual basic and know, a lot of times, it is tedious and difficult to find the solution to a problem. But nothing I did programming prepared me for dealing with ubuntu.
Throughout my trials I have been called a quitter. stupid, any number of things by Linux users. I can guarantee you none of those things relate to me. I'm 72 years old, have been with every upgrade of Win from 95 through XP. Built computers from scratch and repaired many for others.