PDA

View Full Version : Beginner Programming Challenges

Sinkingships7
April 18th, 2008, 11:32 PM
I'm a beginning student in C++ (self-taught, couple months in).

I was wondering if anyone here would be kind enough to post some problems for me to solve using my limited knowledge. Please refrain from directing me towards Project Euler. I know of the source, but would prefer something less math-related.

I just don't want to keep learning without actually using the knowledge I've retained. Below is a (shamefully short) list of all the topics I've covered so far, so you can know how to level my challenges, presuming you have any for me:

- Conditional statements
- Loops
- Functions
- Switch/case
- Structures
- Arrays
- Strings (and string functions)

I also know quite a bit about pointers, but don't feel comfortable using them yet.

I know this might be to generous of a request to fulfil, but if you can't come up with any exercises on your own (or simply don't want to), could you at least give me some good links to programming exercises?

Thank you very much. I get on everyday after school and read these forums, and I spend the majority of my time right here in the programming section. You're all a great bunch of people. I can't wait until I know enough to participate in the challenges. They sound like so much fun!

LaRoza
April 18th, 2008, 11:35 PM
You might want to cover the rest of C++ first.

You didn't list classes (and OO in general). Any use of C++ without them is difficult.

pmasiar
April 19th, 2008, 12:15 AM
I don't think that it is impossible to program C++ without OO - it will be not idiomatic code, but so what. Of course, you will be gaining bad habits which you will need to unlearn later, using idiomatic C++ code, but certainly you can do some coding without OO.

Try these simple tasks: http://learnpydia.pbwiki.com/TasksBeginners

Sinkingships7
April 19th, 2008, 12:50 AM