PDA

View Full Version : Why Ubuntu?

GBC79
April 18th, 2008, 09:30 PM
Hi, I'm pretty new to the whole Linux OS thing, so please bear with me. I've used Microsoft operating systems since the days of DOS 3.1, so I've got Microsoft in my blood. The progression from those days to Vista has been unreal.

But lately, I've been listening to a lot of the talk on Linux and its advantages of MS, and have decided to give Linux a go and see what it's all about. Time for a change you could say.

So I've done some reading, and plenty surfing, and have been astounded by the sheer number of distros!! ...compared to maybe 5 Microsoft operating systems. So needless to say, I've been impressed with the variety!!

From my searches, among the main distros appear to be Ubuntu, Mandriva, PCLOS, Mint and Suse.

But what I havent managed to find out so far what the REAL differences between them are. They all seem to use the same desktop environments (KDE or GNOME), same programs/packages etc.

So, I know this may may be inflammatory which is not my intent (so please dont flame)...but what does Ubuntu have to offer that other Linix OS's (like the ones listed above) dont??

Thanks in advance!
GBC

olskar
April 18th, 2008, 09:35 PM
I think that the community around ubuntu is great, that might be one of the reasons it is so big

I have tried 20+ different linuxdists and feel ubuntu is best for me, you should test some of the biggest too :)

namegame
April 18th, 2008, 09:39 PM
Chances are that with Ubuntu you will get much better technical support. That's not to say that some other linux communities aren't great, but the people here at Ubuntu are very patient with new users, both to Ubuntu and Linux in general.

tyroeternal
April 18th, 2008, 09:49 PM
For me the choice of ubuntu falls down to a few simple things:

1. ubuntu is easy
2. the package management is very solid
3. the community is really helpful