PDA

View Full Version : Games Programming

dadomingues
October 14th, 2005, 02:48 PM
Hi,

I wanna know what languages, methods and tools are the best to develop games? "Anyone" tell me about Allegro, C++, Python and Blender.

Thank you! :D

Lord Illidan
October 14th, 2005, 03:11 PM
I believe Blender is used to produced ray traced graphics, not games. For games, c++ is used a lot in Linux. In fact, if you download the source of a c++ computer game like globulation (run a google search), you can see the source code for it.

dadomingues
October 14th, 2005, 05:26 PM
I know that with Blender we can use python to scriptings and I listened that games can be made with it. Other people defend Allegro and C++, but I'm a newbie in programming games' world. I read an article about XP (eXtreme Programming) saying that it is utilized by many programmers. Is it true?
Should I utilize C++ with Allegro libs, too? I will analize source codes to learn but I would like to know your suggest.

If you can help me... Thank you!!!

stimpack
October 15th, 2005, 01:39 PM
Having worked in the games industry it was all C and Assembler. Some C++ but certainly nothing else. Its all about speed and alot of these fancy languages have a pretty savage performance hit.

Lord Illidan
October 15th, 2005, 01:48 PM
C/C++ and Assembler is the fastest you can get...Other languages are slooow..

jshipley
October 15th, 2005, 10:29 PM
I have found python with pygame to be a very good combination for game making. They can't really compare to C w/ assembly for power and speed, but they don't have to. Unless you are going to be making a huge game where speed is critical, python should do the job beautifully. Plus, it is easy and fun to use.

~J~
October 15th, 2005, 11:23 PM