PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Bash or Python?

Sinyster69
April 17th, 2008, 01:44 AM
:)Hello everyone

Before I start I did do my reseach and yes i am a complete noob to Programing, I have used Ubuntu for the past 4 months now and i decide to buy a laptop with ubuntu 7.10 on it.

I know what languages i am going to learn(Python, Bash, Ruby, C and C++).

But for my first language i am stuck between Python and Bash..
Some of my friends tell me to learn Bash first, so i can understand linux better, then move on to programing in other languages and others say its not that important to learn bash first.

In your guys opinion what should i do?

Xavieran
April 17th, 2008, 01:46 AM
I would learn Python...it is a lot more object oriented than BASH and can be used to the same effect...

I personally find that a combination of BASH and python (os.system("command")) is very useful...
:)

slavik
April 17th, 2008, 01:49 AM
I would learn Python...it is a lot more object oriented than BASH and can be used to the same effect...

I personally find that a combination of BASH and python (os.system("command")) is very useful...
:)
start explaining what OO is, don't forget exceptions while you're at it.

to the OP: I agree with your friends. pick up some BASH and then move on to something bigger.

Warning: I am a C/Perl proponent.

ghostdog74
April 17th, 2008, 02:18 AM
you have 5 choices only. just pick one and start. Don't waste time waiting here for an answer because there will be no perfect answer.

LaRoza
April 17th, 2008, 02:19 AM
Bash is good to know (ghostdog74 drives this point home), however, I think it isn't the best language to start with unless you need it.

Python (as it is in the title) is a better place to start with programming.

EDIT: I had written this before ghostdog74 actually posted...

pmasiar
April 17th, 2008, 02:54 AM
Bash is good to know but not good to start. When you know Python, you can safely ignore 60% of bash with no bad consequences.