PDA

View Full Version : Welcoming sound (and my presentation)

Kooothor
April 15th, 2008, 09:42 PM
Hi everyone,

As this is my first post, I will introduce myself to the community. Please do not read these lines, they describe my geek life and they will certainly be boring. Skip directly to the green part.

I'm a young researcher in cell biology (trying to cure cancer !), and I live in Paris, France. Please, excuse me if I write big grammatical errors as English isn't my first language.

I always had a Macintosh in my house, I started to learn C on these (http://img517.imageshack.us/img517/1725/300pxmacintoshclassiciicq5.jpg) :)
Then, I remember assisting a course at the Apple Expo in late 90' talking about the WWW. I remember us folks on Netscape, typing http://www.something.fr (google wasn't created yet !!) and I remember myself writing down every URL I found up in order to go on the website once at home !
We had a LC computer (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Macintosh_LC_III), runnig OS 9, nice souvenirs with it...
Then I had a Blue Imac (slot loading), I remember downloading on Napster (rip Oink) with my brand new cable connection.Then, I abandonned it, and there was this big hole in my life without computer. Then several years ago, I had me a PowerBook G4 15", nice machine ! I'm still using it daily at work with Mac OS 10.3.9.

With my first pay, I bought an iMac 20" running Leopard. Best computer ever. I installed a virtual Windows SP3, and a Fedora.
And dual boot with windows SP2. God, I hate Windows... But it's good for gaming (big fan of America's Army and Flight Simulator).

Now we arrive to the linux part.
My boss decided to buy for the lab a server in order to run intranet applications for managing the lab. So we bought one, the geek in the building installed it (under Debian), and now it's running well and I have to take care of it.