PDA

View Full Version : What keeps Canonical going?

Buddy's Pal
April 13th, 2008, 04:26 AM
I'm very new to Linux. I've read a lot about it...the philosophy, OSS "movement" and all that. I appreciate its altruistic nature. I love the OS.

But I don't get it as a business model. Canonical has employees. Canonical pays them and other overhead costs. The employees work hard and produce products (Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Xubuntu etc...) which Canonical then gives away. How can Canonical Ltd. ever hope to turn a profit? The same can be said for the producers of other distros.

I would love to see Sony apply the same philosophy to that 50 inch Bravia plasma screen TV I've been looking at. Maybe my lawyer should give free legal advice?

I'm not trying to be facetious or anything. I'm just curious. Why don't Linux companies sell their products at a price lower than Microsoft...you know that good old capitalistic competitive thing?

It might even speed up adoption by Joe Q. Public as I'm sure many think, "How good can this Linux thing be if they give it away?" People tend to equate free with worthless.

smartboyathome
April 13th, 2008, 04:29 AM
There are more places to make money than selling the product itself. Canonical makes money by selling Ubuntu related merchandise as well as tech help services. Other distros (like mandrivia) make money by selling an addon repo, while Novell/Redhat makes a commercial product for the server and sells that.

wannadumpwindows
April 13th, 2008, 04:30 AM
They make a large portion of their profits from paid commercial support. Mostly from businesses and the like. But you're more than welcome to go purchase a support contract for yourself. LoL. I'm sure they have other commercial products as well.

P.S. http://www.canonical.com/services

-grubby
April 13th, 2008, 04:36 AM
Mark shuttleworth funds Ubuntu. He's rich. Millions of dollars. :)

Buddy's Pal
April 13th, 2008, 04:46 AM