PDA

View Full Version : quake2 problem



tregetour
October 13th, 2005, 07:43 PM
When I start up quake2 I get:

QuakeIIForge 0.3
using /home/jdevries/.quake2/baseq2/ for writing
couldn't exec default.cfg
execing config.cfg
Console initialized.

------- sound initialization -------
loading oss sound output driver, ok
/dev/dsp: Device or resource busy
SNDDMA_Init: Could not open /dev/dsp.
------- Loading ref_softx.so -------
LoadLibrary("ref_softx.so")
No joysticks found
recursive shutdown
Error: Couldn't load pics/colormap.pcx


What's going on and how do I fix it? Thank you.

seethru
October 13th, 2005, 07:47 PM
do you see that file in your quake2 directory?

tregetour
October 13th, 2005, 07:51 PM
Which file and where would i look?

asipi
October 13th, 2005, 08:27 PM
That: default.cfg and pics/colormap.pcx

for sound issue check which process using /dev/dsp
maybe esd or artsd depending on using gnome or kde.
Stop that process with its normal way if possible or with kill -9 <pid> as root.

ericsp
October 13th, 2005, 09:11 PM
I get the following response after typing quake2 at the command prompt:


------- Loading ref_softx.so -------
LoadLibrary("ref_softx.so")
Trying joystick dev /dev/js0
Read init event
Read init event
Read init event
Read init event
Read init event
Read init event
Read init event
Read init event
Read init event
Read init event
Read init event
Read init event
Read init event
Read init event
Read init event
Using joystick dev /dev/js0
SNDDMA_Shutdown
recursive shutdown
Error: Couldn't load pics/colormap.pcx
ericsp@Tantalos:~$

any suggestion?

doood81
October 15th, 2005, 07:41 AM
sounds like your pk0.pk3 is corrupt. It is not able to find a default colormap.

http://www.icculus.org/lgfaq/loki/q3faq.html

This man's site is well known for linux quake issues, browse his place for a while :-)

gpw797
October 20th, 2005, 12:59 AM
I got same error msg as ericsp

the colormap.pcx file isn't in directory - I installed quake2 and quake2 data through synaptic

hammett111
October 22nd, 2005, 04:44 AM
Copy your "gamex86_64.so" or "gamex86.so" file from your installation /usr/local/games/quake2 for mine, to /.quake2/baseq2 folder. This should solve your problems.

FerGeCo
May 8th, 2006, 08:26 PM
I solved the issue by renaming de PAK0.PAK to pak0.pak .. casesensative (:

Grtz

Khaotik
June 18th, 2006, 10:05 AM
When I start up quake2 I get:

QuakeIIForge 0.3
using /home/jdevries/.quake2/baseq2/ for writing
couldn't exec default.cfg
execing config.cfg
Console initialized.

------- sound initialization -------
loading oss sound output driver, ok
/dev/dsp: Device or resource busy
SNDDMA_Init: Could not open /dev/dsp.
------- Loading ref_softx.so -------
LoadLibrary("ref_softx.so")
No joysticks found
recursive shutdown
Error: Couldn't load pics/colormap.pcx


What's going on and how do I fix it? Thank you.


I got the exact same problem. How was it fixed? Excuse my noobiness.

Winball
August 31st, 2006, 12:45 AM
You probably need pak0 pak1 pak2 (and pak3?) from your quake2 cd. Their located in baseq2 folder. The colormaps.pcx are in pak0 if im not wronge.

HAARP
August 31st, 2006, 05:45 PM
Yeah, you need the paks from the CD.
Also, I recommened using the Loki's Quake2 installer. The one in the repos is some strange version.

pharcyde
September 1st, 2006, 09:54 PM
You could try following the steps outlined on this page.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Games/Native/Quake2

veg
September 7th, 2006, 10:59 AM
I had this problem last night, and solved it the Debian way:

I installed quake2 and quake2-data, like the previous posters.

I then did:

dpkg-reconfigure quake2-data

which brought up a text based menu asking me where to install the maps from - I chose to install from an original Quake2 CD (my brother's) and then update using a point release from the net. It then installed everything automatically and hey presto, running 'quake2' works.

BUT... I still got the problem with /dev/dsp , so no sound!

Any ideas? (I'll post the exact error message when I get home tonight).

I'm running PowerPC Ubuntu on a G4 Mac Mini. Originally installed from a Breezy install CD and updated via the net to Dapper. This may complicate things...

veg
September 7th, 2006, 11:06 AM
Incidentally, I installed prboom at the same time and that works fine, with sound. Just in case that helps.

veg
September 8th, 2006, 05:09 PM
OK, so the actual error message looks a little different from the ones mentioned above:

------- sound initialization -------
loading oss sound output driver, ok
/dev/dsp: Input/output error
SNDDMA_Init: Could not mmap /dev/dsp.

anyone know what this means?

veg
September 13th, 2006, 01:38 PM
I found the answer to the "no sound" issue elsewhere in the forums, namely:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=79014&page=3&highlight=quake2

ie, start quake2 using the following command:

quake2 +set snddriver ao +set snddevice oss

Worked for me first time. One odd thing: the sound seems to be on "maximum" and the usual GNOME volume control didn't change anything. I had to physically turn down the speakers. Any ideas? Same issue occurs for me with Frozen Bubble and Vegastrike too.

scientist47
April 10th, 2007, 03:29 PM
I had some problems with the quake2-data configuration, so I had to unzip and copy the pak0.pak manually. After that I got


Error: Couldn't load pics/colormap.pcx

I solved this by doing


sudo chmod 644 /usr/share/games/quake2/baseq2/pak0.pak

So the problem was that the files unpacked from the data archive did not give read permission to any user.


I still have a problem with the sound. There is sound, but it is delayed a second. Haven't looked in to it yet.

mbradlcu
April 23rd, 2007, 07:45 AM
here's what fixed the sound problem for me,, incidentally this worked for the kingpin game too
as root
echo 'kingpin 0 0 direct' > /proc/asound/card0/pcm0p/oss

just replace kingpin with what ever the game executable is.

VoodooSmurf
April 27th, 2007, 12:14 AM
------- sound initialization -------
ALSA snd error couldn't set params (Invalid argument).
------- Loading ref_softx.so -------
LoadLibrary("./ref_softx.so")
No joysticks found
recursive shutdown
Error: Couldn't load pics/colormap.pcx

that's what i'm getting... and I was browsing my baseq2 directory, and it looks like i'm missing
paks 0-9, is there a place I can get these from? will the demo have them? I've lost my q2 CD somehwere...