PDA

View Full Version : why doesn't everyone use a tiling window manager?

Pages : [1] 2

chucky chuckaluck
April 11th, 2008, 01:17 PM
i've been using tiling wm's for a couple of months now (mostly wmii), so i'm fully adjusted to them. last week sometime, i reinstalled fluxbox, but dumped it pretty soon as i just couldn't go back to it. if you're not familiar with tiling window managment, here's a little something on it - PathToGlory (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tiling_window_manager)
using one of these feels like real managment rather than the "did you get that thing i just tossed on your desk?" approach.

note: i realize this could boil over into a massive flame war (assuming it doesn't end up in an 'unanswered posts' search), so let's keep it civil.

atomkarinca
April 11th, 2008, 01:20 PM
The reason I'm not using one is that I've got compiz installed and scale plugin does it for me.

elmer_42
April 11th, 2008, 01:51 PM
I used to do that on windows with hard-resizes and the Tile group option. I haven't yet found a way to do it in Linux with GNOME/Compiz. I am looking at the scale plug-in and it does not resemble tiling at all.

aeiah
April 11th, 2008, 01:57 PM
U G L Y it aint got no alibi

chucky chuckaluck
April 11th, 2008, 01:58 PM

stepped in what?

TeraDyne
April 11th, 2008, 02:00 PM

Not only will I agree with you on that, but I don't think it looks efficient. Well, not for me, anyway.

LaRoza
April 11th, 2008, 02:02 PM
i've been using tiling wm's for a couple of months now (mostly wmii), so i'm fully adjusted to them. last week sometime, i reinstalled fluxbox, but dumped it pretty soon as i just couldn't go back to it. if you're not familiar with tiling window managment, here's a little something on it - PathToGlory (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tiling_window_manager)
using one of these feels like real managment rather than the "did you get that thing i just tossed on your desk?" approach.