PDA

View Full Version : Ultimate PHP Developer desktop setup (brainstorm)

SymenTimmermans
April 11th, 2008, 10:43 AM
Hi guys,

I am a full-time php developer working with several php frameworks. I have a live production server for my clients, and when i'm developing i'm mostly working on subdomains of my company domain.

I'm interested in setting up a desktop development system running a LAMP stack on steroids.

The functions this desktop should perform are:
- Run a webserver (apache)
- Run a database server (mysql)
- Run scripting languages (php - maybe php4 AND php5)
- Run some kind of dns server (makes it easier to have multiple projects on the same server)
- have some kind of server control panel for easily adding new domains, subdomains, databases, etc.
- Run a few nice IDE's (phpeclipse, aptana, jedit)
- Graphical software for web design
- various browsers for testing purpopses
- be able to run various php frameworks
- run some kind of version control software
- some kind of mechanism for easily deploying projects to a live server.
- your suggestion?

Software packages i'm looking at for these functions:

Webserver

Apache, pretty much factory standard

Database server

Mysql, again following standard

Scripting

PHP 4 and PHP 5 and the ability to be able to choose which version runs on which domain

DNS server

I'm not even sure if a dns server is needed for what i want to do, i'm looking for people who can elaborate on this

Server control panel

Something like WHM, HELM or CPanel ( fellow developers should know what i'm talking about)
Basically I want domain management software. I'm not sure what's on the market...

IDE's

I'm very fond of eclipse-based editors like Aptana and phpEclipse. I'm also a fan of Zend Studio, but being a proprietary app, i think i shouldn't discuss zend right now.
jEdit also looks promising.

Graphical software