PDA

View Full Version : Running External commands from Java

brennydoogles
April 10th, 2008, 03:20 PM
I am a very new Java Programmer (in my first semester Java class at the University), and I am looking to expand upon What I am able to do with Java, by combining my knowledge of BASH with Java. I would like to do this by learning to run terminal commands from my Java Methods, but I have no idea how to start with that, and it could very well be beyond my grasp with what I know right now. As an Idea about what I would like to do, I want to convert THIS (http://brennydoogles.pastebin.com/fc1fdf91) BASH script I wrote into Java, and from there add functionality based upon new things I learn. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

samjh
April 10th, 2008, 03:29 PM
You'll need to look at the Runtime class: http://java.sun.com/javase/6/docs/api/java/lang/Runtime.html

Pay particular attention to the exec() methods.

This might be particularly useful for you if you have problems with using Runtime.exec(): http://www.javaworld.com/javaworld/jw-12-2000/jw-1229-traps.html?page=1

brennydoogles
April 10th, 2008, 03:46 PM
So using the exec() function, would it be best to run the command and all arguments as one string, or should I use an array? I haven't used arrays yet (although I have a little bit of experience with them from a few PHP tutorials), but I am a pretty fast learner. Thanks!

heikaman
April 10th, 2008, 03:47 PM
here's an example:

import java.io.IOException;
import java.io.BufferedReader;
import java.io.InputStreamReader;

public class test{
public static void main(String[] args){
Process ls=null;
BufferedReader input=null;
String line=null;

try {

ls= Runtime.getRuntime().exec(new String[]{"ls", "-l"});
input = new BufferedReader(new InputStreamReader(ls.getInputStream()));

} catch (IOException e1) {
e1.printStackTrace();
System.exit(1);
}

try {
while( (line=input.readLine())!=null)
System.out.println(line);

} catch (IOException e1) {
e1.printStackTrace();