PDA

View Full Version : Public Schools: stop wasting money on Microsoft

Tank5489
April 9th, 2008, 06:45 PM
I am a freshman in college and over the past school year i have exclusively used Ubuntu, from papers to presentations. Ubuntu has been the best thing to me next to sliced bread. The point to this thread is that I'm trying to get public schools specifically in my area (for now) to switch over to Ubuntu. It has everything a student could need and its free! Recently My old school district (Minnesota 279) had a levy to receive more funds. of course, not all of it passed. A big part of that levy was for new computers/ Technology based equipment. Now because of the levy not passing teachers are being canned and three schools are closing completely! I want to make a presentation to the board about how much money there wasting on Microsoft products and why they need to switch over to Ubuntu in efforts to be more resourceful. I need all the argumentative points you can give me supporting the switch. In a perfect world this would become a state wide switch. once people see the ball rolling i think more supporters will come out of the wood work and push it farther. As American tax payers we have a right to decide how our public schools spend our money. Thanks for whatever you can give me!

TeraDyne
April 9th, 2008, 06:54 PM
Oh, how I wish the schools in my area would switch. The education budget in my state (Arkansas) is hurting, and the money we would save from switching to Linux would stop a lot of the needless "school consolidations" in the stupid "plan" that they passed a few years ago.

Personally, I'd love to get a job taking care of the school computers in my area. I'd be pushing Edubuntu, of course, but it's so much better than watching all that money going down the drain just to get working computers for the schools.

I wonder if I could give some sort of presentation that would get them to consider a live test... Hmm...

aysiu
April 9th, 2008, 06:57 PM