PDA

View Full Version : Jail breaking iphone legal?

Peter1234123
April 8th, 2008, 12:58 AM
I was wondering if anyone knew if jail breaking an iPhone was legal or not? I mean, it's your hardware, hardware is sold to you without a liscence, for the most part, so, I wouldn't see why not, PLUS I am a minor, so I couldn't agree to a contract if they sold it with one ;), and...the only thing that I see that could make it illegal is if there was a provision in AT&T's contract. Anyone have any info?

mister_pink
April 8th, 2008, 01:08 AM
I'd have thought that it would be in breach of your contract. But I'm not a lawyer. And you don't really seem all that bothered anyway! As long as you keep paying the contract for the minimum term I don't suppose they'll mind. And as for "it's your hardware", it seems like nothing you buy these days is ever really yours. Thats the beauty of the open community!

cus1984
April 8th, 2008, 01:10 AM
you would only be voiding your warranty, so if you accidently wipe everything from it, the manufacturer will not replace it.

saj0577
April 8th, 2008, 01:12 AM
You may not sign the contract but your parents may have. yes?

Saj

nhandler
April 8th, 2008, 01:30 AM
I'm not sure of the legality, but I have one question for you. How in the world would AT&T/Apple ever know that you jailbroke you iPhone? I don't know about you, but I don't have employees from my cellphone carrier randomly stopping by my house to make sure I haven't tampered with my phone. The only way they would ever know would be if you sent your phone to them. Since you can always unjailbreak your phone by installing the official apple iPhone firmware, you have nothing to worry about.

NR1224
April 8th, 2008, 01:33 AM
Yes, its illegal. No way around it.:( No, you wont ever get caught, so do as you please.:)

lackofcreativity
April 8th, 2008, 02:16 AM
Can someone please explain why this is on the Ubuntu forums?

Peter1234123
April 8th, 2008, 02:33 AM