PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Screen Resolution/Video Driver issue

arbulus
April 7th, 2008, 05:33 PM
I posted a question over in the Arch forums and haven't got an answer yet, so I thought I'd try my question here as well.

I've googled myself stupid with this. I've search through the arch wiki and followed all the instructions but I'm still having trouble.

I'm pretty new to Arch, so please bear with me.
I just installed arch on an old Dell Dimension 2400 with Intel 82845 graphics card. i installed the i810 video driver because the "intel" driver didn't work at all for me. I have a 22" monitor with a native resolution of 1680x1050. But I can't seem to get that resolution. It keeps giving me 1600x1200 which is very odd. When I move the mouse around the screen, the monitor pans across moving the desktop around.

I've used hwd to try to configure xorg, but it doesn't detect my usb mouse and keyboard and doesn't work at all. When I start x it says no screens found. I've tried x -configure and that gives me a working xorg but with this incorrect resolution. I've edited the xorg.conf file by hand to try to make it work but just ignores my changes. I tried changing the resolution to 1440x900 to see if that would work, but it still won't see it. It's like it's completely stuck at 1600x1200.

I'm running just openbox for a gui.

Here is my xorg.conf file:

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "X.org Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/share/X11/rgb"
ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "extmod"
Load "glx"
Load "dri"
Load "record"
Load "GLcore"
Load "dbe"
Load "xtrap"
Load "freetype"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"