PDA

View Full Version : what stops linux from writing to NTFS

phrozen
October 12th, 2005, 11:12 AM
one of the first thing i learnt when i started playing around with linux was that you couldnt write to NTFS(and because when i started, and i still am, i only used live CDs)so as you can imagaine i couldt save anything on my harddrives. i was wondering about why linux can read but not write to NTFS and if anyone could fill me in on the technical details of the whole Linux NTFS thing it would be awesum

nocturn
October 12th, 2005, 11:15 AM
one of the first thing i learnt when i started playing around with linux was that you couldnt write to NTFS(and because when i started, and i still am, i only used live CDs)so as you can imagaine i couldt save anything on my harddrives. i was wondering about why linux can read but not write to NTFS and if anyone could fill me in on the technical details of the whole Linux NTFS thing it would be awesum

NTFS write support does exist, but is disabled in most kernels because it is dangerous. NTFS is an MS filesystems, it has to be reverse engineered to work on Linux. Now, this works, but not flawless. Any bug in the writing code could cause loss of files or even corrupt the partition, so it is not recommended.

drogoh
October 12th, 2005, 11:18 AM
[deleted because an identical answer was given while I was typing this out]

GeneralZod
October 12th, 2005, 11:23 AM
NTFS write support does exist, but is disabled in most kernels because it is dangerous. NTFS is an MS filesystems, it has to be reverse engineered to work on Linux. Now, this works, but not flawless. Any bug in the writing code could cause loss of files or even corrupt the partition, so it is not recommended.

In fact, writing support is so poor as to not be worth using - one is limited to overwriting the contents of an already existing file, and I'm not sure even if that file is allowed to be non-contiguous.