PDA

View Full Version : I love the smell of CLI prompts in the morning!

Jeff Hunter
October 12th, 2005, 02:11 AM
First, I want to start by saying that I am new to Linux, but I like what I see. I have been a Windows user for many years, and have been indocrinated by them since somewhere around MS DOS v 5 or so, and have fond memories of DOSShell and finding out how to get around my mother's locks on Windows 3.1 Program Manager shell.

So for many years, I have been tearing at what Windows can do, and have long bemoaned how 95 on through XP have successivly reduced the amount of true power (not computer power, mind you, but user power) since the DOS interface in favor of user-friendliness. I was ready to throw up next time I had to use a dratted Wizard to do anything...Wizards magically take away the ability to do anything the way you want to have them done.

However, I had learned to cope with it, and it was oddly my recent training in Cisco routers using the IOS CLI that sparked my interest in Linux. After all, I leared that the IOS was based in part on UNIX, as is Linux, and it reminded me of my beef of the GUI taking all the power away from the CLI. So, about two or three weeks ago, I downloaded the first distro that sounded relitivly easy to install (i.e., I didn't have to know how to use it to get it to work so I can mess around and learn how to use it), and that was Xandros.

Culture shock.

Took me the last three weeks, but I can finally move around in the CLI, move into root, copy and rename files, make new directories and even mount my Windows partition through the CLI. Several days ago, I torched Xandros, feeling that KDE strove to be too Windows-like, and noticing a number of buggy things about it (probably my fault, not its), and I was not ready to try to uninstall KDE and install GNOME. I'm still not, but give me a few months :)