PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to get the Breezy iso on thursday?

stoffepojken
October 11th, 2005, 11:05 PM
Hello!

I was not around at the time that hoary was released so I have no experience in releasepartys except for SuSe 10.0 which I have tried to get for 2 days now. I thought that I could try KDE out for a few days before the breezy release but the SuSe mirrors seems to be down.

Is it possible to download Breezy the 13 or are we going to the same disaster as SuSe. How was it with the hoary release?

I am really looking forward to this.

Sorry for my English, hope you understand my question and I am sorry if there is 100 threads of this already. Delete it if so :)

Wolki
October 11th, 2005, 11:09 PM
Is it possible to download Breezy the 13 or are we going to the same disaster as SuSe. How was it with the hoary release?

The torrent should always work... we'll see how much load the normal servers will have. I only apt-getted the hoary-update, and I think that worked ok on release day, if a little slow. Breezy probably will be a bigger release, so we shall see.

Zelut
October 11th, 2005, 11:15 PM
Assuming its available first thing I always share the .torrent from two of my servers. That should help out. I've currently got the 5.04 and the 5.10RC on .torrent shares. Might be easier to get the RC and do the updates if it gets really slammed..

poofyhairguy
October 11th, 2005, 11:17 PM
Last time (for Hoary) the release slipped, so I'm trying not to pin my hopes on one day!

stoffepojken
October 11th, 2005, 11:25 PM
I hope this is not going to an anticlimax. Do you guys know what happened to the SuSe mirrors? I can get 10 kb/s if I am lucky. Strange two days after the release but I can try KDE another time...

mpettitt
October 11th, 2005, 11:27 PM