PDA

View Full Version : Help me pick a new phone

tonyr1988
April 3rd, 2008, 05:52 AM
I've had a BlackBerry for a little while, but I'm tired of not having a data plan (AT&T doesn't have data plans for BlackBerrys, I can't afford the full one from them, and I can't switch from AT&T), so I'm shopping for a new one.

My contract is being renewed and I don't mind refurbished phones, so I can get them for a decent price.

What would you guys recommend as a good one? I'm pretty new to the smartphone phase, so I'm not sure what they are capable of. Things that are important to me (in general order of importance):

As little proprietary stuff as possible. :)
Bluetooth
Ability to add programs to it (do most Smartphones allow Java apps?) It'd be awesome to be able to do things like SSH into my Mythbuntu box while I'm away to schedule recordings, etc....
Phone / Video Recorder
WiFi
GPS would be cool (does it normally cost extra, or just regular data plan?)

I was looking at the BlackJack II - I can get it for $50, which isn't bad at all. I just don't know about Windows Mobile....is that any good? They tout the ability to do "cool" stuff like integrate to Microsoft Office, which does me no good.

Of course, the OpenMoko is my dream phone, but excluding it....what should I get? What phones do you have, and what do you like/hate about them?

tonyr1988
April 3rd, 2008, 06:27 PM
Tiny bump...I know we've gotta have some cell phone gurus around here.

whitefang5412
April 3rd, 2008, 06:30 PM
Well...it may not be a smart phone but it does have some features you are looking for. The LG env is quite nice. Has a full qwerty keyboard, bluetooth, web browser, calender for scheduling crap, picture taking, video recording, much simpler to use than a blackberry or anything like that too...Just a suggestion. I got another one yesterday since I broke my last one walking around in the woods hunting. Good phones to. Very durable.

SomeGuyDude
April 3rd, 2008, 06:33 PM