PDA

View Full Version : Introducing Myself to the Ubuntu Community

elliio
March 31st, 2008, 08:13 AM
Hi, I'm elliio, and I just wanted to say "HI" to all my fellow Ubuntu tribemates... I live on the island of xubuntu in the village of Gutsy in the ocean of amd64 SMP... hehehe!

Get some Popcorn, and give this post a peek. :popcorn:

I'm a computer hobbyist, and while I spent much time confeeguerating the heck out of Win2K and whatnot for years, XP-64Pro, and Vista left me feeling pissed off. So I "switched", but not to a Mac. They messed up OPENSTEP. Yes, I'm a switcher, but I believe in the software freedoms and libre software in general.

Even while on "the dark side" I used GNU and Libre software. Found it to be of higher quality, more focused, and more interesting, with more character as well.

The only good app on Windows doesn't even come from Microsoft, but Natara of Palm OS fame: Bonsai Outliner (NoteCase is similar on Linux). The second best is from Apple, and that's iTunes. Third is actually from M$... Media Player 11 if you HACK THE S*** out of it with directshow plugins galore to play all formats, and add the filesystem tool to let you read from ext2/3 filesystems on NTFS.

Anyway, I am really loving the switch. The only real contender for me is Foresight 2.0, and it's GNOME only for now (an Xfce edition is in the works).

What I love about xubuntu is that it is Xfce. I just fell head over heels for Thunar 8.0, and thanks to the xubuntu team's PPA's I was able to do a distribution upgrade to Xfce 4.4.2. WHOOPEE!!!

The ONLY thing Thunar is lacking is a Miller Colums browser like NeXTSTEP/OPENSTEP/Mac OS X/KDE Dolphin. Phooey!

Oh, and the bookmarks pane works like the File Viewer Shelf, but not as good. Oh well. I'll be filing feature requests at xfce.org. Not xubuntu's fault.