PDA

View Full Version : Open source for college student

Collin
October 9th, 2005, 07:04 PM
Hi I'm a student from the CEGEP de Sherbrooke in Québec Canada, I study human science (sociology, history, politics and so on) and in one of my classes I have to do a project (from a sociology point of view) and I decided to initate all the students at the college to open source software (it's important that I don't want to throw them in linux right away since 99% of them are not going to go along) so my idea was to distribute cds with a bunch of open source software (open office, firefox, thunderbird, etc. and documentation about open source and how it is a key concept for the future).

Of course I want them to try linux aswell so I figured out that a live distro would be the best solution.

So I'm looking for some idea on what would be the best way to developpe the project. I thought of two things either have the two cds distributed with every school scheduler or have some sort of stand where people can come by and take a look (but that wouldn't really work)

If anyone takes part of or know of any initiative like that please inform me aswell

aysiu
October 9th, 2005, 07:17 PM
Are you talking about something like this?

http://www.theopencd.org/

Collin
October 9th, 2005, 07:41 PM
Great that is a good start, but my only problem is that I'm looking at the cheapest way to get about 6000 cds, I guess I'll have to present that project to the board to get some funding.

If I get this thing appoved by the board maybe Ubuntu would be interested in providing with live ubuntu distro.

Cause the way I see it, open source is the key for gaping the digital divide between rich and poor countries but it also have to be used and supported by people here.