PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Noob Monodevelop List<T> reference

sum1nil
March 26th, 2008, 05:21 AM
Hello.
I'm new to monodevelop. I understand it has a Xaml parser and of course runs c#.
I copied over some xaml and code behind classes.
When I build, I get 4 errors all having to do, I think, with
using System.Collections.Generic;
The code snips are:
public interface IContactProvidier

{

List<Contact> GetContacts();

}
The error says:
error CS1041: Identifier expected
The List doesn't seem to be recognized as a class. I searched add references from Monodevelop but didn't recognize anything close to
The question is what reference do I use to get a List<T> class?
Thank you in advance for your help.

themusicwave
March 26th, 2008, 02:58 PM
If you want to set a list equal to a function call it would be:

List<Contact> = GetContacts();

Without the equal sign it would certainly be an error. I think adding the equal sign will fix this problem.

You have the correct reference it is:

sum1nil
March 26th, 2008, 04:19 PM
I appreciate the response.
The snippet:

public interface IContactProvidier
{ List<Contact> GetContacts(); }

is for an interface which only defines the methods a class that uses the interface must implement. If I remember right they are called virtual abstract classes in c++, all function declarations and no implementation. I'm not sure why the example I worked from felt the need to state an interface for one method.

By the way I like Ubuntu, it was so much easier to set up than my old Mandrake. When I reboot, I'll go back into it and I'll rewrite without utilizing an interface and post the results back.
Thanks for your time.

themusicwave
March 26th, 2008, 04:34 PM
Yeh that was a silly mistake on my part....

I know what an interface is, yet somehow completely missed that problem.

Another possible issue is where is the reference to Contact? I pasted your little snippet into visual studio here at work and it says: