PDA

View Full Version : ubuntu kubuntu needs improvement

onihr
October 9th, 2005, 07:32 AM
I'm new to Kubuntu and I have been a Windows user forever and I see that information is too spread out for people making the transition. I have spent hours and hours doing google searches, jumping to many different forums and tuturials, reading ubuntu and kubuntu guides etc...to help me accomplish simple tasks. Most people are all ready timid and hesitant to make the transition to a linux o/s and when they do a lot of them give up on it thinking it's too difficult. I don't think it's impossible for people to learn I think what makes it difficult is the lack of organization,structure, and focused support for transitioning windows users.

There should be a page just for windows users that breaks it down from point a to z. Here are some of the problems I encountered;

1. Burning the iso image file on cd(I had to do a google search to find this info on some boondock website/waisted a few cdr's when I tried using the nero wizard)
2. Once installed no interactive or visual wizard type tutorial to get accustomed to KDE(KDE's quick tutorial could be improved. I know it can be improved. Kubuntu is powerful-don't tell me we can't hook it up with a flash tutorial or something interactive with voice and sound. I think the goal should be to have great support and tutorials that will make windows look difficult to use from a newbs prospective)
3. Windows users are used to "my computer" or knowing where their drives and files are(again a really quick tutorial at start up would be nice explaining the most common features"interactive tutorial would be ideal with tux doing the instructing")
4. I used up a lot of time trying to figure out how to download programs(the unofficial guide is just not good enough for people making the transition-I ended up finding where that was in a forum because the guide left some simple steps out like how to access and edit the sourclist.)