PDA

View Full Version : Help with Java Please :)

The3rdhero
March 22nd, 2008, 07:52 PM
I need to take a String which could be declared like:

String myString = "Ubuntu for teh win"

Then, I'm writing a method called Chop(), which will chop the string referenced by myString into its constituent words and return them as
an array of strings.

Any help please? :)

The closest I've got is toCharArray() - but it isn't quite what I need.

Wybiral
March 22nd, 2008, 07:58 PM
I think you're looking for the split (http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.4.2/docs/api/java/lang/String.html#split(java.lang.String)) method.

The3rdhero
March 22nd, 2008, 08:21 PM
Thank you bud, I've created it and it works like I wanted it to.

=D>

---------

Okay, I've come across yet another problem, I am new to Java so I'm still experimenting, but here goes...
My code below is meant to take the string in htmlPage - chop it up into an array called words, then i need to search the words array for the strings in links, if they exist, I need it to make a link of that word. For example, if the word PageEnhancer is in both words[ ] and links[ ] then it should make the word PageEnhancer into a link.
The problem I'm having is below the code.

public String htmlPage = "<HTML> <TITLE> Page Enhancer </TITLE>"
+ " <BODY> <H1> Hello </H1>"
+ " <P> This page is the main page of PageEnhancer </P>"
+ " <P> From here you will be able to click links </P>"
+ " <P> that will take you to the index and"
+ " contents pages </P> </BODY>";
public String[ ][ ] links = {{"index", "index.html"}, {"contents", "contents.html"}, {"PageEnhancer", "description.html"}};

public StringBuilder addHyperLinks()
{
StringBuilder newPage = new StringBuilder();
String[] words = htmlPage.split(" ");
for(int k = 0; k < words.length; k++)
{
for(int i = 0; i < links.length; i++)
{
if(links[i][0] == words[k])
{
String pageLink = links[i][1];
newPage.append("<a href=\"" + pageLink + "\">" + words[k] + "</a>");
}
if(links[i][0] != words[k])
{