PDA

View Full Version : cross-platform application to make window apps & contribute to Open Source Projects?

bgryderclock
March 21st, 2008, 11:58 PM
I have been using Linux exclusively at home for the last 3 years.

I have no real programming training but I have managed to become the 2nd strongest programmer in my giant healthcare company's patient accounting branch with 2 community college VB classes and art of crudely copy/pasting together code from online tutorials.

I want to write code with an open source application.

It would be great if it were:
-cross-platform so I am able to run it at work
-able to create windows executable.
-able to create code to contribute back to simple open source projects like GTick (http://www.antcom.de/gtick/).

What application should I look into? Any suggestion or links to posts/articles would be great!

stevescripts
March 22nd, 2008, 12:42 AM
Lots of tools available for cross-platform programming.

In order of *my* preference, ;) Tcl, Python, Ruby. They all have various widget
sets available for use, on Linux and windows.
(Python has much of the mind share here, and if I had started with it,
it would probably have mine too)

Concerning easy cross-platform deployment - I use starpacks (this is gonna be
a new term on a lotta folks around here...)

Not a shameless self-plug - but there are links on my website http://www.stevescripts.com
... click on the Starpack link on the left

Steve

bgryderclock
March 22nd, 2008, 02:21 AM
Lots of tools available for cross-platform programming.

In order of *my* preference, ;) Tcl, Python, Ruby. They all have various widget
sets available for use, on Linux and windows.
(Python has much of the mind share here, and if I had started with it,
it would probably have mine too)

Concerning easy cross-platform deployment - I use starpacks (this is gonna be
a new term on a lotta folks around here...)

Not a shameless self-plug - but there are links on my website http://www.stevescripts.com