PDA

View Full Version : new users are so smart

wvmac
March 19th, 2008, 05:59 PM
Today while in class I noticed a student using linux on their laptop. So after class I went up to him and asked him what distro he was using. He said ubuntu and he told me that he was new to linux and that he had only been using linux since January. Windows had given him too much trouble. I told him I was using Ubuntu and Debian (short e sound). He then interrupted me saying that it is pronounced Deebian (long e). I'm not one for confrontation so I didn't say anything. I did however end my conversation pretty quickly after that. I am no pro, but I have used linux since early 2003, and he stated he was new to linux and yet he already "knows" everything. I was going to offer help to him, but he apparently doesn't need help. At least that is the impression I get from him. Oh well. So much for the friendly "newbies".

fatality_uk
March 19th, 2008, 06:05 PM
Ahh lighten up man ;)

A rose by any other name would smell as sweet

chucky chuckaluck
March 19th, 2008, 06:06 PM
'Deb' being short for 'Deeeeeborah', no doubt.

LaRoza
March 19th, 2008, 06:23 PM
I noticed a lot of people get hung up on how to say things. This Linux world is on the internet where everything is written, so things are not set in stone.

There are official ways to say everything, but that doesn't mean anything.

Obviously this person is worried about how to say things. Tell him that it is a common difference, and that he shouldn't be so concerned.

Cases to consider:

* Linux
* MySQL
* SQL (Its official pronounciation is different from MySQL's official pronounciation)
* Xubuntu

chucky chuckaluck
March 19th, 2008, 06:36 PM
I noticed a lot of people get hung up on how to say things. This Linux world is on the internet where everything is written, so things are not set in stone.

from - http://www.debian.org/intro/about