PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu Language Learning (French)

jsilverman
March 18th, 2008, 10:02 PM
Hello Everyone,

I am a first year French student located in Denver, Colorado. I was one of the first customers of the Dell Inspiron 1420n laptop with pre-loaded Ubuntu Feisty. I am using Kubuntu 7.10 and I am aware that the entire OS is available in French.

I am making this post to inquire about Free Software programs that help you learn a foreign language, even those that are specific to French. I want to know what you guys know about machine reading in French, dictionary tools, and even KDE's new linguistic framework which I read about today. The new framework is supposed to be called Sonnet (http://www.linux.com/feature/59963).

What do you guys know about using Linux to help you learn a new language? Programs, tips, ideas, all welcome.

Thanks,

Jonathan Silverman

sajro
March 18th, 2008, 10:35 PM
Personally, I plan to do immersion once I get my laptop (most likely a Thinkpad). I'll set up KDE(mod) to be in Russian and then I'll have no choice but to learn Russian! (Of course, I'll have a keyboard switcher to type in English things.)

So, what I'm saying is...do something crazy: throw yourself into a foreign world. However, with your computer, it's reversible. In a sink-or-swim situation, you learn to swim quite quickly. You'll be surprised about how many cognates there are in the Latin-based languages such as French and Spanish.

ODF
March 18th, 2008, 10:42 PM
I'm a french speaking person, but I mostly use my computer in english ... except for my keyboard.

I don't beleive using a computer in french will really do the job. Since french is very complex ... you better have conversations in french rather than reading some badly translated computer terms.

=)

Ps : I mean english is good in an international way because it's very simple and can be used with quick words. Computer terms in french are just ugly because it looks complicated.

sajro