PDA

View Full Version : Check My Resume

MethodOne
March 18th, 2008, 02:00 AM
Right now, I'm looking for an IT job (most likely a network admin) after I graduated from college. Could someone please look at my resume and make any suggestions? But I do have a few questions. Do you think I should put "OpenOffice" or "OpenOffice.org" as the name of the popular office program? My counselor told me to call it "OpenOffice," but I know that "OpenOffice.org" is the proper name of it. For some of the graphics applications I have limited experience with, do you think I should list them? Attached is my resume.

billgoldberg
March 18th, 2008, 02:46 AM
English isn't my first language, but a resume is the same as a curriculum vitae isn't it?

The layout could use a bit improvement.

And you should put way more one there.

Anyhow, the are hundreds of sites that will help you one what to write.

http://www.powerful-sample-resume-formats.com/index.html

LaRoza
March 18th, 2008, 02:51 AM
Don't try to bloat it, it should fit on a single page, unless you have a lot of experience.

Superkoop
March 18th, 2008, 03:00 AM
I would put down the names, and phone numbers of your refrences. Along with why they are your refrences. (like previous employers and the like)
I think that would make it look nicer.

Vitamin-Carrot
March 18th, 2008, 03:11 AM
Don't try to bloat it, it should fit on a single page, unless you have a lot of experience.

A SINGLE PAGE!!!!

Mine barely fits on eight and that aint with formatting it to bugery,

Tailor your CV for each position you apply for, keeping in mind the information about you that is more relivant to the position thats being advertised is most likely the stuff potential employers would want to read, have a generic one for when you are walking around on the street and you see a place with a help wanted ad in the window...

Always have a cover letter but dont ramble on and on about yourself tailor it for each position you apply for.