PDA

View Full Version : Tutorials on Forum Basics

aysiu
March 16th, 2008, 05:39 PM
Some of the users on these forums are pretty forum-savvy--they've used forums for other subjects even if they're new to Ubuntu, so they know how to ask questions, how to find their old threads, etc.

Well, other users ask us from time to time how to do the forum basics (How do I post a new thread? How do I find my old threads?), and it occurred to me that we don't really have tutorials for those things on our site, and maybe we should. So here they are: one tutorial per post.

Please feel free to add your own tutorials to this thread, if you think they'd be helpful to new users--only tutorials on how to use the forums, not on how to use Ubuntu.

aysiu
March 16th, 2008, 05:45 PM
The forum is basically broken up into four main sections, with a bunch of subsections in each one.

The three main sections are Absolute Beginner, Main Support Categories, Other Community Discussions, and Forum Community Discussions.

If you're looking for support on a technical issue, your best bets are to post in the Absolute Beginner section (if you're new) or in the Main Support Categories (if you're not new).

If you have a thread that is not to do with technical support, you should post in one of the other subforums.

Please try to post in the appropriate subforum, though, as this will help keep the forums organized and will help others be able to find you to help you or to find your thread later to help themselves.

Avoid cross-posting. Post only one thread per topic. Do not, if you have a problem with getting your laptop to resume from suspend, post one thread about it in Absolute Beginner, another thread about it in Hardware & Laptop Support, and yet another about it in General Help. Cross-posting bumps other people's threads down, dilutes support from users trying to help you, and is generally considered parasitic--you may receive warnings or infractions for such behavior.