PDA

View Full Version : Linux: 'Cause it's free, open, or better?

&)ky#)^
March 16th, 2008, 08:12 AM
I know there are plenty of posts out there that ask "why do you use linux?", but I'm sticking to a select few answers to see which is the most popular. I'm not going to make this a poll only because I believe that would be cliche and these questions are not best served that way.

Do you use Linux because it's free?
Me: Not because it's free, but it's a nice perk.

Do you use Linux because it's open?
Me: Yes and no. I like being able to see why my computer acts the way it does when I need to. I'm not an open source software evangelist, though. I've been sucked into that thinking more than once, but being a software developer I just can't stick with it. What I mean is that I'm not a devoted follower of Stallman who believes the world would be a better place if all software was GPL'd. When I write software, if I end up officially licensing it I only sometimes use the GPL. Sometimes I want to keep my program's code and its future all to myself. Sometimes I make software open because I see a future for my software I am unable or unwilling to provide. If someone likes my code enough, perhaps they will optimize it or add features I can't or won't due to a lack of knowledge, time, or industriousness on my part. I guess what I'm saying is that I feel a little hypocritical valuing the fact that linux is open to the degree of being more than just a perk despite the fact that I'm not whole-heartedly into the whole OSS revolution scene. If I improve on a piece of existing open software, you can bet I'm going to offer that improvement back to the community though.

Do you use linux because it's better?