PDA

View Full Version : Why the HECK are LCD monitors so expensive?? (long-winded post ahead)

Pogeymanz
March 16th, 2008, 02:59 AM
This post rambles so much, it borders on spam. I'm mostly just feeling bored and chatty.

I have a computer at my parents' house that nobody wants. It is a DELL something-or-other from 2000, with a PIII @ 1Ghz, 128MB RAM and a 20Gig HD. I still think that's a damn capable computer. I found that the max RAM is 512MB of pc133. So, I'm thinking: 1GHz with 512 RAM would be a great home system considering I'm a poor college student and only have a laptop computer here at school.

Ebay solved the RAM issue famously. Two sticks of 256MB for about $22 US, including shipping. And I recieved a "broken"/"unusable" 80Gig HD from my sister because her friend's dad swore that it was unsavable and she bought a new hard drive.

She did this without consulting me, obviously. I wouldn't have let her waste her money if I knew. It was her WinXP HD and she is always getting viruses. Well one of the viruses locked the hard drive, which I'd never even heard of before, but a few googles and 10 minutes and I had it wiped and good to go.

So now I have a PIII @ 1GHz, 512MB RAM with an 80Gig HD + 20Gig Slave. Not bad at all!

But, my problem is that I don't have a whole lot of space, let alone desk space! So I thought I would buy an flat screen monitor, so that it would tolerable to have this computer. My fiancee has her own desktop, and we share almost everything in our apartment, but she bought that computer and I have no right to start partitioning her HD and complicating her life by adding Linux to it. So, my point here is that we have a computer already taking up some desk space and that a big honkin old-school monitor is not acceptable in our current situation, but a flat monitor would probably be great.