PDA

View Full Version : What's the best AJAX framework out there?

SuperMike
March 15th, 2008, 05:09 AM
What's the best (most popular) AJAX Framework out there that uses PHP (and potentially MySQL) on the backend? I'm a PHP/MySQL Freelancer and I've been going down the wrong path of doing all my Javascript and AJAX stuff myself, and it's a royal pain with cross-platform testing and so on. It's time for me to grow up and use a framework for these things so that the testing is already done for me. I've already heard that JQuery is the reigning king of Javascript frameworks, but what if I want an AJAX-based drag and drop solution, or AJAX based treeview control that dynamically gets child nodes from the server on the fly? It's this sort of thing for why I'll also need an AJAX framework.

pmasiar
March 15th, 2008, 05:15 AM
AJAX has nothing to do with PHP or MySQL. It is JavaScript running in browser. Any web server can provide XML, or even better, Jason - JavaScript object notation, more readable and easier to parse (you just need eval it).

Very nice AJAX based UI widgests are YUI - Yahoo user interface kit, very clean design, skinnable. Google has own, of course. Good web app framework (like TurboGears) simplifies AJAX/Jason interaction a lot.

lnostdal
March 15th, 2008, 05:16 AM
combine jQuery with ExtJS

http://extjs.com/deploy/dev/examples/#sample-4

i'm developing a custom server-backend for this stuff at the moment .. it's gonna be great .. =)

SuperMike
March 15th, 2008, 05:45 AM
AJAX has nothing to do with PHP or MySQL. It is JavaScript running in browser. Any web server can provide XML, or even better, Jason - JavaScript object notation, more readable and easier to parse (you just need eval it).

Very nice AJAX based UI widgests are YUI - Yahoo user interface kit, very clean design, skinnable. Google has own, of course. Good web app framework (like TurboGears) simplifies AJAX/Jason interaction a lot.