PDA

View Full Version : Security Team

Dr Small
March 14th, 2008, 07:13 PM
Seeing how we have two teams on Ubuntu Forums for helping out with the Absolute Beginner Talk and the Unanswered Posts, I was wondering if we could have a Security Team to be a dedicated group of security minded users to help out with the Security Discussions.

Please post your thoughts on this, as to if this is a good idea or not. :)

Dr Small

LaRoza
March 14th, 2008, 07:23 PM
That would be a pretty good idea. Security is a "specialty" and a group devoted to it would make sense IMO.

OrangeCrate
March 14th, 2008, 08:03 PM
Let me know when it's up and running, I'd be happy to participate.

LaRoza
March 14th, 2008, 08:11 PM
Let me know when it's up and running, I'd be happy to participate.

I should clarify, Admins would make the decision (the Forum Council, actually). I am just a moderator.

Admin == Yog-Sothoth
Mod == Cthulhu

kevdog
March 15th, 2008, 12:43 AM
I think this is also a great idea being that security is one of the main selling points for linux!

Admin == Yog-Sothoth
Mod == Cthulhu

I need some translation help (decryption since we are talking security) for the above!

LaRoza
March 15th, 2008, 12:48 AM
Admin == Yog-Sothoth
Mod == Cthulhu

I need some translation help (decryption since we are talking security) for the above!

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/5/58/CthulhumythosShrefflerchart.png

Dr Small
March 15th, 2008, 12:50 AM
And of course, I would be very willing to help out the team, if it does become approved. (Not sure if I stated that or not..)

Yeah LaRoza, what is that cryptic text?
Edit... Opps.

Dr Small

Joeb454
March 15th, 2008, 12:50 AM
I don't think a security team would be a bad idea :)

Especially because some beginners just use Linux to set up a cheap home server :)

bodhi.zazen
March 15th, 2008, 03:53 AM
Thanks for the suggestion Dr Small :)

I think the idea has merit.

FYI: There are a few ongoing activities at this time :