PDA

View Full Version : People will pay through the nose for technical support

Lostincyberspace
March 14th, 2008, 07:03 PM
I have started doing technical support people are where I live and most people are willing to pay 20 bucks and hour. and I haven't spent more than 5 dollars in total for the last 5 weeks of helping people (I save a lot by riding a bike most places). I average 5-6 hours a day and at 20 bucks an hour thats pretty good better than a lot of people I know than work 8-10 hours a day.

Has any one else noticed this strange happening?

derekr44
March 14th, 2008, 07:12 PM
Two Words: Geek Squad

This is why people are willing to pay the extra money for Windows or Mac than make the effort to go to Linux. We live in a world that freely spends it's money for convenience.

Who cares? I'll throw down the extra $0.90 so I can supersize my burger combo! I've got money!

rickyjones
March 14th, 2008, 07:20 PM
I'm a computer consultant and I charge around $45/hour for my services. This includes technical support, general consulting, installation of hardware/software, network design and implementation, etc...

People will pay good money for a good service. This is not because people are dumb, this is just how people are.

I know nothing of cars, so I "pay through the nose" when I take it to my dealership to fix it. Likewise people who know very little about computers pay me to help them out.

I don't think it is necessarily because of convenience, but more to do with who people are. Not everyone wants to know everything about computers. Likewise not everyone wants to know everything about cars.

I wouldn't call it a new thing - people pay top dollar for top tier consulting - this is just the way the world works. Personally I love it this way. Capitalism at its finest.

-Richard

fatality_uk
March 14th, 2008, 07:52 PM
Woah you guys are cheap!! Next time I have a project I'll drop you a line ;)