PDA

View Full Version : Creating a script and running it via sudo

dacool25
March 13th, 2008, 11:21 PM
Hey there guys,

I'm trying to run a script so that I don't have to type the commands all the time. Here is a little background to what is for first though: Well I am using ISPConfig and whenever it writes any files it overdoes any changes that I do to users and permissions within its folders. So I would like to create a script that will just automate the commands that i do.

I have a few problems, one of which being that they all have to be run via sudo or su

Anyways, here is my script, can someone help me why it isn't working? Just bear in mind that i'm not very good with scripts,

Thanks

sudo -s adduser webuser webusers
sudo -s chgrp -R webusers /var/www/web1/web
sudo -s chgrp -R webusers /var/www/web2/web
sudo -s chgrp -R webusers /var/www/web3/web
sudo -s chgrp -R webusers /var/www/web4/web
sudo -s chgrp -R webusers /var/www/web5/web
sudo -s chgrp -R webusers /var/www/web6/web
sudo -s chgrp -R webusers /var/www/web7/web
sudo -s chmod -R 775 /var/www/web1/web
sudo -s chmod -R 775 /var/www/web2/web
sudo -s chmod -R 775 /var/www/web3/web
sudo -s chmod -R 775 /var/www/web4/web
sudo -s chmod -R 775 /var/www/web5/web
sudo -s chmod -R 775 /var/www/web6/web
sudo -s chmod -R 775 /var/www/web7/web

PS what should i save it as?

thanks

ruy_lopez
March 14th, 2008, 12:08 AM
Add this at the top:

#!/bin/sh

Save it prepended with .sh, eg "myscript.sh". Then make it executable:

chmod +x myscript.sh

Run like this:

./myscript.sh

Or save in inside ~/bin and run it normally.

EDIT: you don't need "sudo -s". Normal "sudo" should work. It'll ask for the password on the first attempt, then run the rest without asking. Also, when you are finished editing, remove write privileges from the script.

mssever
March 14th, 2008, 12:14 AM
Anyways, here is my script, can someone help me why it isn't working? Just bear in mind that i'm not very good with scripts,