PDA

View Full Version : programming books

duuchung
March 12th, 2008, 11:39 AM
Dear pals,
I am not a programmer. I have special interest in database and accounting systems. I have used more than enough downtime or waiting time to pursue my interest in I.T. All these years, I have bought the following books in my home library.

Learning Perl Perl R Schwartz and others O'Reilly
Advanced Perl Programming Perl S Cozens O'Reilly
Perl Best Practices Perl D Conway O'Reilly

Python in a nutshell Python A Martelli O'Reil ly
Professional PHP4 PHP various wrox
Professional PHP5 PHP various wrox

Teach yourself PHP PHP M Zandstra Sams

Teach yourself SQL SQL R Plew and other Sams

Core MYSQL The Serious Developer's Guide MYSQL L Atkinson Pearson

Learning MySQL MYSQL S Tabagbogbi and others O'Reilly
Beginning PHP5 and MySQL E-Commerce from novice to fessionalPHP+MYSQl
C Darie and other Apress

AJAX & PHP Web2.0 PHP+AJAX C Darie and other packt
CSS Instant Results CSS R York wrox

Teach yourself TCl/Tk TCL V Sastry and other Sams

SQL: A beginner's guide SQL F Houlette Osborne
HTML: A beginner's guide HTML W Willard Osborne
Using TCP/IP J Ray Que

I have read all these books. I still cannot write big programmes. I can follow the logic and codes of all these books. These books do not teach you how to chain up the small programmes to become big programmes. What is the use of books? Could anyone enlighten me?
regsards, duuchung

pmasiar
March 12th, 2008, 02:35 PM
You missed one important book: "Learning Python". :-)

You cannot learn programming by reading many beginner's books in many different languages. The only way is to pick a language, stick with it, and write programs with it. By opinion of many, Python is best choice (see poll in sticky FAQ). Programming is not science, it is a skill - a craft. You learn by doing it.