PDA

View Full Version : Technical Distros?

LeoSolaris
March 12th, 2008, 05:39 AM
I have been thinking of trying my hand at a more technical distro, like Arch, Slackware, or Gentoo in summer.

I am relatively new to Linux, but I am not new to computers or doing difficult and involved projects. I would like to learn about the inner workings of Linux and it has been mentioned that putting together a customized type of Linux like one of those I mentioned would be a great way to learn, as well as provide me with a more solid, trimmer, and faster Linux experience.

The only real concern I have with taking on a more technical distro is the community support. I am fiddling with Linux for the first time, and you know how some of my fellow geeks can be, out and out elitist. I love Ubuntu's forum, and I am sure to have a great deal more questions to ask that are not covered in the man. Ease of help would be my top priority to be honest.

So my question is this... what distros should I look into for my summer project? I have seen a good bit about Arch from the forums, and I did look over their online documentation and wiki. Definitely looks fun to try out, but I will have questions!

jrusso2
March 12th, 2008, 05:43 AM
Well when you use those types of distros they assume you have some expertise already.

But if you do ask questions they always like if you research the issue first in the documentation before asking. They usually don't have a lot of patience for people asking questions that are already covered.

GSF1200S
March 12th, 2008, 07:52 AM
Arch should definitely be up there. Gentoo is of course very technical, but also affords you alot of control- Gentoo is a must for many...