PDA

View Full Version : Why do you keep windows around?

patrickaupperle
March 11th, 2008, 03:27 AM
Is it because:
You need windows for important hardware/software.
you need it for games.
you have others around who need it.
Other.
You don't.

jose158
Games

zmjjmz
Are you making a poll?
EDIT: I don't keep OSX around, and I never did. Too much of a hassle with Bootcamp...

Istonian
March 11th, 2008, 03:28 AM
U should make a poll. I would choose I dont.

Salpiche
March 11th, 2008, 03:29 AM
so I can break something once in a while!

patrickaupperle
March 11th, 2008, 03:30 AM
I was making a poll.

SonicSteve
March 11th, 2008, 03:32 AM
I'm an IT manager and sometimes I need to have access to various Microsoft products.
Also some of the websites that I've been with for years use Shockwave player for things. While it annoys me, there is little I can do about it. At times I need windows. 99% of the time I forget it's even available though. Recently I've seen a few sites that have made new video players and they support linux nearly perfectly. I wish all site designers would wake up and realize that they are alienating a substantial user base if they don't support linux.

sstusick
March 11th, 2008, 03:32 AM
I have no need for Windows, except for the occasional video editing...I have yet to find a decent video editor for Linux. Other than that, I am 99% Linux.

themusicwave
March 11th, 2008, 03:34 AM
I use Windows only to test software. I like to make things cross platform, so I need to be able to test on Windows.

I haven't booted into Windows in a few weeks.

Istonian
March 11th, 2008, 03:35 AM
kdenlive is decent for me. I do not use Windows at all. Linux meets all my needs in a computer. I play games like Urban Terror and Nexuiz. Not a huge gamer.

patrickaupperle
March 11th, 2008, 03:36 AM
I keep windows around because dell always wants to trouble shoot. They won't give me new hardware (to replace what broke) without me having windows.

Omnios
March 11th, 2008, 03:39 AM