PDA

View Full Version : Forum Effectiveness Survey

gunksta
March 10th, 2008, 03:14 AM
I'm curious to see how effective this forum (Absolute Beginner's) is at solving the problems posted here. To do this I would like to look at a minimum of 250 threads and evaluate them on a number of criteria. I started working on this idea and thought I would get some feedback from the community before I get too far in to this. Here is the info I'm thinking about gathering at this point in time:

Thread URL - For QA and to make sure that I only measure/count a thread once.
Date - mm/dd/yy This registers when the thread is first screened.
Time - 24 Hour Time Rounded This registers when the thread is first screened.

Post Category - X-Server, Sound, etc. (I'm still working on the categories).
Posted On Date - Self Explanatory

Solved within 5 Days? - True or false. Was the problem solved within 5 days of first post?
Solved With Help From The Forum? - True / False
Solved With Outside Information - True / False
Solved For Themselves - True / False

Command Line Solution Suggested? - True / False
Command Line Suggestion Necessary? - True / False

I am looking for input from ALL participants of this forum to see if the proposed tool measures the stuff you think is important. What categories of questions should be on the list? (I'd like to keep it to ~6-12 categories) Is there anything else that should be measured?

At this point I am looking for suggestions, ideas, and some volunteers to help with this. The more people who help with this, the faster I'll be able to get a large number of threads assessed (more is always better). If you would like to volunteer, just post to this thread and I'll contact you (PM) when I'm ready to go.