PDA

View Full Version : Non-interpreted language?

microfi
March 7th, 2008, 02:47 AM
Hi folks!
I'm new to programming in Linux (in Windows I used to make apps in Delphi), and I've been seeking the programming languages available. I found MonoDevelop, Eclipse, Anjuta, Lazarus and Python, QT4. The thing it is, most of them are interpreted: Mono is .NET, Eclipse makes JAR files, Python is that too... This idea is a bit odd for me. For instance, if I compile an EXE with Delphi, I'll be able to run it in any computer running Windows, with no need to download an interpreter or "virtual machine". It seems that the interpreted app is not solid, or even well-compiled...
The remaining IDEs (Anjuta, Lazarus and QT4) presented their disadvantages:
- I wasn't able to deal with the integrated Glade in Anjuta;
- Lazarus does not support GTK2 and it's crashy; also it generates giant binaries;
(I haven't tried QT4 at all yet).
So, is there any IDE I can try? In which programs do you make things like Banshee, GIMP, etc..?

Thanks, Filipe

slavik
March 7th, 2008, 02:52 AM
you do not need to use the built in glade in anjuta ... it is there as more of a convenience thing. :)

microfi
March 7th, 2008, 02:54 AM
Thanks!
But will Anjuta make Linux-native applications? I don't know if it sounds a little odd, but I was used to the EXEs from Windows that run on every machine, with no need of interpreters...:)

LaRoza
March 7th, 2008, 03:09 AM
Thanks!
But will Anjuta make Linux-native applications? I don't know if it sounds a little odd, but I was used to the EXEs from Windows that run on every machine, with no need of interpreters...:)

IDE's aren't compilers.

EXE's from Windows won't run on every machine. (Try it on a Mac or Linux...)

What language are you looking at?

Languages that are normally compiled are: C, C++, D, Objective-C, Fortran, Ada, etc.

LaRoza
March 7th, 2008, 03:11 AM
Hi folks!