PDA

View Full Version : Photobook under Ubuntu

frank.bommeli
March 5th, 2008, 08:44 PM
Hi guys,

Since I decided to give Ubuntu a try, I have the same recurrent problem.
One of my main activity home is to play with photos. I make photobooks. I haven't found any Photobook provider in Switzerland with a software for linux. Ifolor (ex photocolor) has a .net framework application. I tried to install fuji's with wine, but could not install it (got an error)

So my question is how can I make a Photobook with Ubuntu in Switzerland?

Has someone an idea?

Thanks in advance.

Frank :confused:

popch
March 8th, 2008, 05:05 PM
I have seen someone offer a web based photobook service which runs on flash. It was called Snapmania. Green.ch also appears to offer that service. I have, however, not been able to find any prices for the finished books. I have no personal experience with any of those.

Googling (in google.ch) for 'Photobook' yields a few hits. Have you tried running some of those downloads in Wine?

frank.bommeli
March 9th, 2008, 07:25 PM
I don't want a web based solution. First, I don't have always a connection when I'm working on my photobooks and due to the size of the images, it can be painful to work online and / or over a slow connection.

I confess, I tried only fuji with Wine and nothing with ifolor.

I should add that I'm a Ubuntu (Linux) beginner.

popch
March 9th, 2008, 08:44 PM
There's myphotobook which runs in Wine, after a fashion. However, it is painfully slow and tends to drop mouse clicks ar something. Not very enjoyable for a real project.

There are, however, some services which accept pdf documents instead of some special formats. You can do pdf quite well with OpenOffice.

frank.bommeli
July 12th, 2008, 05:20 PM
Well I tried the ifolor app. It is the one I use under windows.
Using wine and winetricks, I was able to start it but there are errors during installation and the application is not usable. The first error message is: