PDA

View Full Version : Share your experience

whiterabbit
October 3rd, 2005, 04:48 PM
G'day everybody....

I'm posting out of both curiosity and concern.....

I'm 24 next week and I'm beginning to get a little "iffy" about my future.

I'm a first year IT: Multimedia student so we're learning Java, Javascript and HTML amongst a few other programs. I'm a complete beginner to all of these languages but hey, we all start somewhere don't we?

I was having a chat with somebody today about where this course will lead and I was told that it's quite hard to get a job in the software or website industry when you've passed the age of 25. I didn't know how to take this so I've come to your "programming talk" forum for advice and opinion.

How old were you when you first started to learn your language of choice?

How long have you been programming for?

Where are you now? (experience, occupation etc.)

I'd love to hear your thoughts on the matter.

thumper
October 3rd, 2005, 04:55 PM
30 (python), 22 (C++)

How long have you programming for?
18 years

Contract developer in London, UK. Been here about seven years, NZ before that.
Experience? What can I say? Longest ever job has been three years. Average is around 12 months. One of the advantages of being a contractor is that you get to move around. Work mainly for banks these days as they pay the best, but going to pack it all in and head back to NZ next year.

whiterabbit
October 3rd, 2005, 11:21 PM
Well it looks as though you've done quite well for yourself.

What is your opinion of what this person has told me? Is he right in saying that it's alot harder to find a place in the industry if you're over a certain age group?

thumper
October 3rd, 2005, 11:40 PM
Well it looks as though you've done quite well for yourself.

What is your opinion of what this person has told me? Is he right in saying that it's alot harder to find a place in the industry if you're over a certain age group?
I didn't say that:confused: