PDA

View Full Version : Study of Ubuntu Use - help needed

bstockwell
February 29th, 2008, 06:17 PM
I am applying for some funding from my school (Miami) to do some research to help determine the current usability of Ubuntu (and other open source projects) and measure the feasability of it becoming a commonly used OS for everyone, not just a computer science major.

I've been using ubuntu rather exclusively for over 6 months now and have invested myself in the project. I want to see the entire linux project move forward, but I'm not sure how that can happen. The current marketing efforts have spread the word, but they seem to taget a narrow demographic, this is why I want to conuct his research. To provide the community with some empirical (and holistic) data so they can use it to better the product.

I was wondering if anyone had heard of similar projects occuring in the past. I think that most use of open source projects has come from fellows like me who hear about it through the grapevine and then used the project later.

Also, as sort of a precurser to the project, I suppose I'm also interested in how you happened upon Linux in general. How about Ubuntu? What disciplines do you work in? Which are interested in? What other open source project do you use?

Thanks for the help, If I do get funding I'll be sure to tell you guys what I find out (the project would end in June 2009, a report is due in July)

zerhacke
March 4th, 2008, 12:21 AM
Also, as sort of a precurser to the project, I suppose I'm also interested in how you happened upon Linux in general. How about Ubuntu? What disciplines do you work in? Which are interested in? What other open source project do you use?